Chronology

1957-58 Boundary stone Austria-Hungary, Karl Prantl 

1959

First Symposium of European Sculptors, St. Margarethen, Burgenland   

1972International sculptors' convention at the Table of Silence by Constantin Brâncuși in Târgu Jiu, Romania
1974-75Stephansplatz Project, Vienna (abandoned)   
1993Last new work placed on St. Margarethen hill
2004Archiving, book publications, web publications

From stone to stone …

What we are interested in is art, its preservation, cultivation and attracting people for its future. Walking over the hill of St. Margarethen, from stone to stone … our gaze reaches as far as the Schneeberg, the eastern edge of the Alps, the Leitha Mountains, the chapel, roams over the vineyards, the belt of reeds towards Hungary, across Lake Neusiedl. Sculptures have found a home here …

In the summer of 1958, a new tone was struck in the quarry at St. Margarethen, beats for the modern age. The sculptor Karl Prantl was working on his landmark, the boundary stone. The unique experience of working in the open air at the very spot where the stone was broken, in bright sunshine, accompanied by the beat of jackdaws' wings, led to the idea and eventually the foundation of the Symposium of European Sculptors. In the summer of 1959, the first symposium was held in the quarry at St. Margarethen. The formative notion: "To sculpt the images from stone that should bear witness to our times". The form of abstraction had been found. Within the collective, whose life together was limited to the duration of the summer, the twelve invited artists, who came from all over the world, created their sculptures. The quarry had become both studio and exhibition, the symposium, the helping hands reaching out to one another, the experience and the dialogue fell on fertile ground. Symposia all over the world followed, in a huge variety of forms and formulations. With the discovery of the beauty of the hill in the summer of 1963, stones were placed, imagined and produced. The wish was that they take root… In 1965, the sculptors' house was built on the old walls of the quarrymen's former canteens and received its first architectural award. LandArt, Teamwork, the Japanese Line, "the purpose of interruption is continuation", has snaked out of the quarry and across the hill since 1970 as a symbol of the idea of symposia spreading all over the world. "There is no better gift that one culture can give to another…". Let us look at LandArt, three cones in the quarry, cielo, terra e uomo. Let us sit down today at the stone table Symposion, now golden yellow and moss green. The art of strolling, of experiencing art and nature as a symbiosis. The hill at St. Margarethen has grown together to form an ensemble, may our concern never wane … Today I would like to thank all the artists and all those who have helped us. With great dedication, with inspiration and imagination they have left their mark on this site – "do not just live from substance, create more". In accordance with the wishes of the founders, a landscape of sculptures, a garden has been created… a landmark – an artwork.

"Walking over the hill of St. Margarethen, from stone to stone" (Karl Prantl)